Accredited Study Programmes


The field of studies system in higher education of the Slovak Republic issued by the Ministry of Education no. 2090/2002 entered into force on 16th December 2002. The field of studies system is administered by the Ministry of Education of the Slovak Republic. The system includes the courses in which universities in the Slovak Republic are authorised to provide higher education.

Within the field of studies system, the universities design their study programmes where higher education is provided:

  •  In the first stage – Bachelor's degree programmes,
  • In the second stage – Master and engineering curricula.
  • In the third stage – Doctoral programmes.

The study programmes implemented at faculties are approved by the Scientific Council of the Faculty after prior consultation with the Academic Senate. The study programmes are submitted for approval to the Accreditation Commission by the rector of the university.

The Accreditation Commission shall consider the relevant university and its departments ensuring the implementation of the study programme and the curriculum. It shall also inspect the extent to which the individual attributes meet the criteria approved by the Ministry of Education of the Slovak Republic. If the attributes of the school and its departments providing the realization of the study programme and the attributes of the study programme satisfactorily meet the established criteria, the Accreditation Commission shall recommended the school as capable of carrying out the corresponding study programme.

The university is granted the right to confer an academic degree by the Minister of education.
The university can admit only candidates for the study of accredited study programs included in the list of study programmes. Since the academic year 2005/2006, universities have been allowed to admit applicants for study only to accredited study programs established under Act no. 131/2002 Coll. on Universities.